GK University - шаблон joomla Создание сайтов

News & Happenings

Professor Bernard Kumi-Boateng, Quiz Master, Handing over Trophy to the Winners

As part of activities earmarked for the celebration of the 70th Institutional Anniversary, the University of Mines and Technology (UMaT), on 15th July, 2022 organised Inter-Faculty/School Quiz Competition for the faculties and schools in the University. These are the Faculty of Engineering (FoE), the Faculty of Geosciences and Environmental Studies (FGES), Faculty of Integrated Management Science (FIMS), Faculty of Mining and Minerals Technology (FMMT), School of Petroleum Studies (SPetS) and the School of Railway and Infrastructure Development (SRID).

The Pro Vice Chancellor, Prof Anthony Simons, expressed satisfaction with the organisation of the programme and stated that the Quiz Competition was organised to retell the history and achievements of the University since inception. He added that the competition would serve as a form of education on some facts about the University’s past.

Pro Vice Chancellor, Prof Anthony Simons

There were two stages of the competition; the preliminary (knockout) stage, and the final stage. The preliminary stage involved three competitions. SRID competed and won against FIMS in the first instance. SPetS matched up with FGES and won in the second instance.  The third instance was between FMMT and FOE and was won by FMMT.

The winners of the preliminary stage, SRID, SPetS and FMMT competed in the final stage which was won by SPetS. The winner of the final stage was awarded with an amount of GHC 2,000.00, a trophy, and a day’s treat at Longji International Hotel, Tarkwa. FMMT emerged the 1st Runner up and was awarded with a sum of GHC 1,500 and offered a day’s treat at Longji International Hotel, Tarkwa. SRID was the 2nd Runner up and was awarded with an amount of GHC 1,000.00. FGES, FIMS and FOE were also awarded with an amount of GHC 250.00 each.

The programme was attended by staff and students of both the Tarkwa and Essikado campuses.

Section of Students Present












Source: University Relations Office