The University Council

The University of Mines and Technology (UMaT), a publicly funded institution in Ghana is superintendent by a University Council, as the highest decision-making body.  The University Council is empowered by the Act that established the University to manage and direct the affairs of the institution in areas of property, revenue, expenditure, business and other matters within the context of power accorded it. The Council has the following current membership:

His Excellency John Agyekum Kufuor


Very Rev. Prof J. O. Y. Mante

Chairman/President’s Nominees

Hon. Ama Pomaa Boateng

President’s Nominee

Prof Mark Adom Asamoah

President’s Nominees

Prof Yayra Dzakadzie

President’s Nominee

Mr. Kwame A. Acheampong

President’s Nominee

Prof Richard K. Amankwah

Vice Chancellor

Rev. Fr. George Eduayaw Ansah

Conference of Heads of Assisted SHS

Prof Bernard Kumi-Boateng

Convocation (Professorial)

Dr Henry Otoo

Convocation (Non-Professorial)

Mr Bashirudin Adam

Rep., Senior Staff

Ms Cecilia Baffoe

Rep., Junior Staff

Dr Peter E.  Sampson

Rep., Alumni

Mr Benjamin Nana Nyamekye

Rep., Postgraduate

Mr Emmanuel Frimpong Manso

Rep., Undergraduate

Dr Sulemanu Koney

Ghana Chamber of Mines

In Attendance

Prof Anthony Simons

Pro Vice Chancellor

Mr Matthew K. Okrah


Mr Jonathan Sakoe

Finance Officer